Restored

I know I just posted about the point and how I really haven’t been sure about it here, but I went out again today, and I think my love for the city has been restored. My other roommate, Sam, and Hannah are both photography majors. For their black and white photography class, they have been given old Nikon 35mm film cameras to shoot with. They had to get through a roll tonight, so I decided to go out with them. I stupidly, once again, did not bring my own camera with me. I haven’t broken that baby out since I’ve been here. Anyways, they wanted to go somewhere “different”. I suppose what they meant was different from where they typically go, because they said they wanted to go to the point, and that’s not very different if I say so myself…

Anyhow, since I really do love it there, I agreed to go and we took plenty of stops along the road to shoot before we actually even made it to the point. There really isn’t anything special about this trip, it’s just that the weather was perfect; chilly but sunny and cloudless skies. Plus it was dusk and city sunsets are for whatever reason especially beautiful, y’know, when you can actually see the skies through the numerous skyscrapers.

ImageImage

Image

Image

Image

ImageHooray pictures of buildings right? Yeah I know, not that impressive. Although that last one did remind me of a building from “Metropolis”, which, for those of you who don’t know, is a very good old dystopia-themed silent film. Pretty impressive, I recommend it. But with all these industrial pictures, we of course had to take some selfies.

ImageMe, Hannah, and Sam, in that order. We finally did get to the point go, and I loved it just as much as I did every other day.

Image

ImageAnd more selfies, Hannah’s and my favorite things.

Image

ImageAnd then while sitting there, I realized how pretty everything looked.

Image

Image

ImageNiftiest picture I took today. I am glad my iPhone could pick up the reflection so well.

ImageHannah: “What if I just sit on her…” Me: “DO IT” Sam was pretty confused.

Image

Image

ImageWe aren’t called the city of bridges for nothing.

Image

ImageThere was a couple canoodling up there on the top of the hill, and what I originally thought was “heey, get it” but then I thought they might be homeless, and so then my heart got warm with the thought of love conquering all. Well on our walk back, we realized they were not homeless, and were probably like 15, and I couldn’t help but laugh and shake my head.

Image

Image

Image

ImageSaw some interesting graffiti while down on the riverwalk too.

Image

Image

Image

ImageMade Sam model some.

Image

Image

Image

Image

ImageThis girl was performing underneath the highway bridge, on the bridge that connects over a little manmade creek thing? Anyways, she was phenomenal and I could have listened to her all day. I didn’t have any cash on me, but thankfully, Sam gave her some. I’d like for her to make something of her music. She was very talented. I knew when I heard and saw her though that I wanted to mention her in this post. Always help out your local performers, they may make it big one day.

Image

This broke my heart though. It’s hard to see, but I realized what it was as we passed it. The people with the van brought food for the homeless people around the city. It both warmed and broke my heart. When I see homeless people, I hate myself. I mean depending on their situation. I just think, y’know I go to a prestigious school where my family pay a lot of money for an education I can use to benefit my future. Before I came to school, I didn’t have it that difficult. And I know I take it all for granted. For the people that are hopeless because of reasons they can’t control, I wish that I could learn from you what it’s like to really appreciate everything you have. I try to, but I know I don’t. One day, I’m gonna sit down and just talk with a homeless person. Just to know their story. Hopefully I can learn how to live from that. Bless their hearts.

Anywho, I hope you enjoyed these photos as much as I did, and if you ever get the chance to visit the burgh, please do, because it’s all worth it.

Much love and God bless.

Leave a Reply

